Technical Support | HSPA.Com | Indiana Public Notices
HSPA's Information Network | Indianapolis, IN

home : infonet participants : freelancers Plain text September 15, 2014

A | B | C | D | G | J | M | R | S | T


Abbott, Amy McVay
Location: Newburgh, IN

Experience: Thirty years in health care marketing and public relations, working as independent journalist and freelancer since June 2009. Currently writing for Evansville Business Journal, Evansville Woman Magazine, Evansville Courier (regular edition plus Warrick and Westside editions), Knox County Boomer Magazine, Dubois County Boomer Magazine, as well as numerous health care clients, writing ghost blogs, collateral material, scripts, web content. I write a bi-weekly newspaper column “The Raven Lunatic” which runs in eight Indiana newspapers. I have a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in journalism from Ball State University.

Specialties:
Health care, especially women’s health, urology, technology, eye issues; business, profiles, small business; the Arts, theatre, art museums and special exhibits; history and travel

References:

Cheryl Martin, Magazine Editor, Evansville Courier and Press
martinc@courierpress.com, (812) 464-7525

Melody Brunson, Executive Editor, Boomer Magazines
mbrunson@washingtontimesherald.com, (812) 698-1626 

 

Email:

amymabbott@wowway.com


Allan, Marc
Location: Indianapolis area

Experience: 24 years as a newspaper reporter (16-plus of those at the Indianapolis Star), seven years as a freelancer. I've written for the Washington Post, the LA Times, Writer's Digest and many other publications.

Specialties: Features

References:
Norm Heikens, IBJ
(317) 472-5304, nheikens@ibj.com

Jim Poyser, Nuvo (317)
(317) 254-2400, jpoyser@nuvo.net

Email:

Mallan317@att.net
Telephone:

(317) 501-7999


Annis, Robert
Location: Indianapolis

Experience:

Freelance Writer (July 2000 - Present)
• My articles have been published in National Geographic Traveler, AARP Bulletin, Cyclocross Magazine, Hooked on the Outdoors, Outdoor Indiana, Antique Week, Indianapolis at Home, Evansville Living, Ambassadair's Journey and other magazines.
• Wrote short destination pieces and previewed local sporting events for AOL's Digital Cities Indianapolis Web site.
• Covered the 2011 Collegiate Track Nationals for USA Cycling's website. Over the course of three days, I wrote multiple articles, took more than 500 photos and sent approximately 100 tweets.

Reporter, The Indianapolis Star (March 2003 - June 2011) 
• Covered government and breaking news throughout the Indianapolis metropolitan area, writing hundreds of articles for both print and web each year.
• Was the primary reporter for many major stories over the years, including the Carmel High School bus hazing incident, a molestation scandal at College Park Church and the Indiana Secretary of State's felony voter fraud case. Many stories, such as my piece on a drug-dealing elementary school student, have gone national.
• Well versed in using social media such as Facebook and Twitter for reporting purposes and connecting with my more than 1,800 followers. Named one of the top five Twitter users in Indianapolis by local blogger Jonathon Haag, who wrote my tweets were "like having your own news reporter."
• Served as Custom Publications Writer/Coordinator for three years before transferring to the newsroom. Working in a small team environment, I supervised a cadre of freelance writers and editors, helping to publish more than 100 publications in a typical calendar year. In 2004, projects I worked on generated more than $14 million in revenue for The Star. 

Specialties: Travel, Outdoors, Cycling, Features, Government, Breaking News, Courts 

References:
Gregg Montgomery, Indianapolis Star
(317) 444-6292, gregg.montgomery@indystar.com

Kevin Morgan, Indianapolis Star
(317) 444-6306, kevin.morgan@indystar.com
Email:

indywriter@sbcglobal.net
Telephone:

(317) 250-8433


Blacklidge, Kent
Location: Kokomo, IN

Experience: 20 years at Kokomo Tribune, largely in management; 4 as publisher.

Very deep science education including Ph.D. in genetics. Was editor of Indiana Aquaculture Assn. newsletter for 3 years. Taught environmental science and biology at university level.

Member SPJ and SEJ.

Specialties: Negotiable

References:

Pat Munsey, Kokomo Perspective
(765) 452-0055, editor@kokomoperspective.com

Jeff Kovaleski, Kokomo Tribune
(765) 459-3121, jeff.kovaleski@kokomotribune.com
 

 

Email:

kent@visionengineers.com
Address:

814 Maplewood Drive
Kokomo, IN    46902
Telephone:

(765) 461-9708


Chambers, Doug
Location: Greenwood, Indianapolis area 

Experience: 
Have been writing a political/Humor column for approximately 4 years and have recently begun writing blog entries for various entities.

Political, blog entries, travel, photography

References:
Star Padilla, Eminent SEO
(800) 871-4130 ext. 1,  star@eminentsocialmedia.com
Email:

doug@indychallenger.com
Address:

400 East Main St.
PO Box 708
Greenwood, IN     46142-0708
Telephone:

(317) 888-3376


Cristobal, Mary
Location: Indianapolis

Experience: Recent college graduate with five journalism internships and two journalism fellowships, which include with The Indianapolis Star and an Illinois Statehouse political reporting gig.

Specialties: Business, feature, politics (state and local), breaking news, multimedia, and social media

References:
Ben Yount, Illinois Statehouse News
(217) 528-1247, benyount@hotmail.com

Dr. Rick Kenney, Florida Golf Coast University
239 410 6101, kenney.rick@gmail.com


Email:

m.cristobal.cff@gmail.com
Telephone:

(561) 543-5629


Durham, Brian

Location: Connersville, IN and Fayette County

Experience:
Worked freelance on examiner.com covering high school basketball. Contributed to towncow.com a Fayette County alternative news website. Currently editor and publisher of own alternative online newspaper serving Fayette County, Indiana.

Specialties: Please include your story coverage rate.Please include your story coverage rate. Sports, hot news, political, and economics.

Email:

brdurham@indiana.edu
Address:

108 W 24th
Connersville, IN    47331
Telephone:

(765) 309-6011


Durham, Doug
Location: Georgetown, IN 47122

Experience: Published sports photographer

Specialties: Sporting events

Reference:

Matt Koesters, News and Tribune
matt.koesters@newsandtribune.com, (502)377-1668

John Shetron, John Shetron Photography john@johnshetron.com, (610)430-8284

Email:

ddurham914@gmail.com
Telephone:

(502) 817-8607


Guzman, Michael
Experience: 9/13-Present RantSports.com-Chicago Blackhawks Beat Writer 1/13-9/13 RantSports.com-Motorsports Beat Writer

Specialties: Motorsports, Hockey, Baseball, Football, Basketball, Prep Sports

References:

Michael Rubino, IUPUI (adjunct prof.)
marubino@iupui.edu, (317) 489-1009

Chris Lamb, IUPUI
lambch@iupui.edu, (317) 274-4948

Email:

miceguzm@iupui.edu
Address:

1201 Indiana Ave Apt #3616
Indianapolis, Indiana    46202
Telephone:

(630) 487-0913


Jack-Kelly, Kelli
Location: Indianapolis

Experience: 22 years in journalism/PR/marketing/media, and owner of a reporting and writing firm since 1994. Have an MBA from Ball State and a degree in Political Science and History from Indiana University-Bloomington. Have also spent 16 years writing, reporting and hosting TV shows in the Indianapolis area, and also working as on - air host and personality for Entercom and Cumulus radio stations in Indianapolis. Print experience dates back to 1990 as a freelancer for NUVO, Indianapolis Woman, Indianapolis Star, the Herald-Bulletin, Muncie Star Press and more.

Specialties: Writing and reporting.

References:

Jennifer Skodjt, Entercom Communications
(317) 816-4000,
jskodjt@entercom.com

Greg Browning, Cumulus Media
(317) 842-9550,
greg.browning@cumulus.com

Email:

kjack@linesincmedia.com
Telephone:

(317) 590-4519


May, Ronald
Experience:
• Freelance Writer & Personal Historian June 2012

• Parish Pastor for 23 years
• Navy Reserve Chaplain for 22 years

Specialties:
• Veteran Tributes & Military Service Stories
• Senior Citizens & Life Stories

Terms: $50 - $75 per article with photo(s)

References:
Brian Culp, Editor
Reporter-Times (Martinsville)
bculp@reporter-times.com, (765) 342-1444

Kathy Linton, Editor
Hendricks County Flyer
kathy.linton@flyergroup.com,(317) 272-5800

Email:

rpmay8163@hotmail.com
Address:

1458 Labrot Court
Avon, Indiana    46123
Telephone:

(317) 839-6433


Reagan, Joel
Location: Noblesville, IN

Experience:  I currently work in radio for K-LOVE and Air1 radio networks, based out of Indianapolis. Prior to my radio career, I covered high school and small college sports for newspapers in Oklahoma.

Specialties:  Sports, High School, Football, Baseball, Basketball

Terms: $30-40 (football rates), rates negotiable.

References:

Rich Tortorelli, Oklahoma City University
rtortorelli@okcu.edu, (405) 208-5304

Bill Bootz, The Villages Daily Sun
bill.bootz@thevillages.com, (352) 753-1119

Email:

joel@joelreagan.com
Address:

10405 Platinum Dr.
Noblesville, IN    46060
Telephone:

(913) 538-1694


Reusser, Kayleen
Location: Bluffton IN (near Ft Wayne)

Experience: 20 years writing for magazines, newspapers, books-- Chicken Soup (4 stories plus 9 children's non-fiction books from Mitchell Lane Pub); 8 years freelancing for Ft Wayne News-Sentinel, mostly Features -- profiles, religious profiles, travel, theater, entertainment. I also write a weekly column for the Ossun Sun Riser (3 years) and freelance for the Bluffton News-Banner.

Other:
  • Webiste: www.KayleenR.com
  • Facebook: kjreusser
  • Twitter: kjreusser
  • Author of: Recipe and Craft Guide to Indonesia; and 8 other children's books.
Email:

kjreusser@adamswells.com


Slosarek, Steve
Location: Carmel

Experience: Writer and editor for Indianapolis Star, 1988-2011

Specialties: Cultural and entertainment event coverage, restaurant dining coverage, sports coverage. 

References:
Zach Dunkin, Indianapolis Power & Light Co. (ex-Indy Star)
(317) 908-2697, zach.dunkin@aes.com

Becky Walter, Indianapolis Star
(317) 444-6040, becky.walter@indystar.com

Email:

slosarek@aol.com


Tomas, Lois
Location: Portage, IN

Experience:
 Award winning newspaper journalist; internationally published freelance reporter; experienced copy editor; editor; page designer 

Specialties: Government; investigative reporting; personality profiles; history; education; features; arts and entertainment; travel; home improvement; nature; horses

Reference: 
Becky Long, Clay County Progress
publisher@claycountyprogress.com, (828) 389-8431
1st Reference Email: 

Phil Hudgins, Community Newspapers Inc.
phudgins@cninewspapers.com, (800) 226-0692
Email:

ltomas@dnet.net
Telephone:

(219) 764-0465


Advanced Search


Subscription Login
LOGIN | SUBSCRIBE

How To?

InfoNet Participants
• Participating Newspapers
• Press Release Contributors
• Freelancers
Who's Your Primary Contact?

Content Submission
Corrections Submission
Press Releases
Sports Organizations

Online Resources
Site Map
Emailed Budget
RSS Feeds
Employment

About


Technical SupportIndiana Public Notices
Editor, John C. DePrez Jr.
Content copyright 2014 The Hoosier State Press Association and the respective copyright holders

Software © 1998-2014 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved